mar510 - Molecular Mechanisms and Interactions (Course overview)

mar510 - Molecular Mechanisms and Interactions (Course overview)

Institute for Chemistry and Biology of the Marine Environment 12 KP
Module components Semester courses Sommersemester 2023 Examination
Lecture
  • No access 5.08.4582 - Biological significance of suspended matter Show lecturers
    • Prof. Dr. Meinhard Simon

    Dates on Tuesday, 09.05.2023 - Wednesday, 10.05.2023, Tuesday, 16.05.2023 - Wednesday, 17.05.2023, Tuesday, 23.05.2023 - Wednesday, 24.0 ...(more)
  • No access 5.13.502 - Sediment microbiology Show lecturers
    • Dr. Bert Engelen
    • Prof. Dr. Martin Könneke
    • Dr. Michael Seidel
    • Dr. Torben Struve

    Dates on Tuesday, 30.05.2023 - Friday, 02.06.2023, Monday, 05.06.2023 - Friday, 09.06.2023, Monday, 12.06.2023 - Friday, 16.06.2023 14:15 - 15:45, Location: W16A 004, W15 0-023, W15 1-146
    Diese Vorlesung ist Voraussetzung für das Praktikum „5.13.581 Microbial ecology of marine sediments“! The participation on this lecture is a precondition to take part in the practical course „5.13.581 Microbial ecology of marine sediments“!

  • No access 5.13.511 - Molecular Microbiology Show lecturers
    • Prof. Dr. Ralf Andreas Rabus

    Dates on Tuesday, 11.04.2023 - Friday, 14.04.2023, Monday, 17.04.2023 - Friday, 21.04.2023, Monday, 24.04.2023 - Friday, 28.04.2023, Mon ...(more), Location: W15 0-023, W15 1-146
  • No access 5.13.512 - Microbial Ecology Show lecturers
    • Prof. Dr. Peter Schupp
    • Dr. Bert Engelen
    • Prof. Dr. Martin Könneke
    • Dr. Marion Pohlner

    Dates on Monday, 08.05.2023 - Tuesday, 09.05.2023 16:15 - 17:45, Wednesday, 10.05.2023 16:00 - 17:00, Thursday, 11.05.2023 16:15 - 17:45, Friday, 12.05.2023 14:15 - 15:45, Monday, 15.05.2023 - Tuesday, 16.05.2023 16:15 - 17:45, Wednesday, 17.05.2023 16:00 - 17:00, Monday, 22.05.2023 - Tuesday, 23.05.2023 16:15 - 17:45, Wednesday, 24.05.2023 16:00 - 17:00, Thursday, 25.05.2023 16:15 - 17:45, Friday, 26.05.2023 08:15 - 09:45 ...(more)
    Location: W15 0-023, W15 1-146

Exercises
Seminar
Study trip
Hinweise zum Modul
Prüfungszeiten
At the end of the lecture period, the exact date will be announced during the course.
Module examination
Two assesments of examination:
Written exam on contents of the lectures 'Molecular Microbiology' and 'Microbial Ecology'. At least 50% of the reachable points in written tests about the two lectures mentioned above.

Active participation: Active and documented participation in practical courses (labs, exercises, seminars, field trips) and courses. These include e.g. the delivery of exercises, writing a lab report or seminar presentations according to the advice of the course supervisor.
Skills to be acquired in this module
The students know the molecular mechanisms of metabolism, genetics and evolution. They know regulatory mechanisms on the molecular level and feedback mechanisms between organisms. They know the basics of microbial ecology and the biogeochemistry of important microbial habitats. They know molecular and chemical-analytical methods of microbiology. The have experience with the field study of microorganisms.