mar510 - Molecular Mechanisms and Interactions

mar510 - Molecular Mechanisms and Interactions

Institute for Chemistry and Biology of the Marine Environment 12 KP
Module components Semester courses Summer semester 2024 Examination
Lecture
  • Unlimited access 5.08.4582 - Biological significance of suspended matter Show lecturers
    • Prof. Dr. Sarahi Lorena Garcia
    • Prof. Dr. Meinhard Simon

    Dates on Tuesday, 07.05.2024 - Wednesday, 08.05.2024, Tuesday, 14.05.2024, Tuesday, 21.05.2024 - Wednesday, 22.05.2024, Tuesday, 28.05.2 ...(more)
  • Unlimited access 5.13.502 - Sediment microbiology Show lecturers
    • Dr. Bert Engelen
    • Prof. Dr. Martin Könneke
    • Julius Degenhardt
    • Dr. Michael Seidel
    • Dr. Torben Struve

    Dates on Tuesday, 21.05.2024 - Thursday, 23.05.2024, Monday, 27.05.2024 - Friday, 31.05.2024, Monday, 03.06.2024 - Friday, 07.06.2024 14:00 - 16:00, Location: W15 1-146, W16A 004
    Diese Vorlesung ist Voraussetzung für das Praktikum „5.13.581 Microbial ecology of marine sediments“! The participation on this lecture is a precondition to take part in the practical course „5.13.581 Microbial ecology of marine sediments“!

  • Unlimited access 5.13.511 - Molecular Microbiology Show lecturers
    • Prof. Dr. Ralf Andreas Rabus

    Dates on Tuesday, 02.04.2024 - Friday, 05.04.2024, Monday, 08.04.2024 - Friday, 12.04.2024, Monday, 15.04.2024 - Friday, 19.04.2024, Monday, 22.04.2024 - Friday, 26.04.2024 16:00 - 18:00
  • Unlimited access 5.13.512 - Microbial Ecology Show lecturers
    • Prof. Dr. Peter Schupp
    • Prof. Dr. Martin Könneke
    • Dr. Bert Engelen

    Dates on Monday, 29.04.2024 - Tuesday, 30.04.2024, Thursday, 02.05.2024 16:00 - 18:00, Friday, 03.05.2024 14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 06.05 ...(more), Location: W15 0-023, W15 1-146
Exercises
Seminar
  • Unlimited access 5.08.4711 - ICBM-Colloquium Show lecturers
    • Prof. Dr. Helmut Hillebrand
    • Lehrende der Meereswissenschaften

    Thursday: 12:00 - 14:00, fortnightly (from 25/04/24)
    Dates on Wednesday, 10.04.2024 17:00 - 19:00, Wednesday, 08.05.2024 12:00 - 14:00, Thursday, 20.06.2024, Thursday, 04.07.2024 12:15 - 14:00

  • Unlimited access 5.13.513 - Microbiological Colloquium Show lecturers
    • Lehrende der Mikrobiologie

    Wednesday: 17:00 - 19:00, fortnightly (from 03/04/24)

    Detailed program will be announced

Study trip
Hinweise zum Modul
Prüfungszeiten
At the end of the lecture period, the exact date will be announced during the course.
Module examination
Two assesments of examination:
Written exam on contents of the lectures 'Molecular Microbiology' and 'Microbial Ecology'. At least 50% of the reachable points in written tests about the two lectures mentioned above.

Active participation: Active and documented participation in practical courses (labs, exercises, seminars, field trips) and courses. These include e.g. the delivery of exercises, writing a lab report or seminar presentations according to the advice of the course supervisor.
Skills to be acquired in this module
The students know the molecular mechanisms of metabolism, genetics and evolution. They know regulatory mechanisms on the molecular level and feedback mechanisms between organisms. They know the basics of microbial ecology and the biogeochemistry of important microbial habitats. They know molecular and chemical-analytical methods of microbiology. The have experience with the field study of microorganisms.

Top