Stud.IP Uni Oldenburg
University of Oldenburg
29.11.2021 01:51:44
Seminar: 6.01.16304_1d LFC1: IgE-Dependent and –Independent Histamine Release from Human Basophils - Details
You are not logged into Stud.IP.

General information

Course name Seminar: 6.01.16304_1d LFC1: IgE-Dependent and –Independent Histamine Release from Human Basophils
Subtitle
Course number 6.01.16304_1d
Semester Sommersemester 2021
Current number of participants 3
expected number of participants 7
Home institute Fakultät 6 Dekanat
Courses type Seminar in category Teaching
First date Tue., 20.04.2021 13:00 - 16:00, Room: (Synchron, BBB)
Type/Form
Lehrsprache deutsch

Course location / Course dates

(Synchron, BBB) Tuesday. 20.04.21, Tuesday. 27.04.21, Tuesday. 04.05.21, Tuesday. 18.05.21, Tuesday. 25.05.21, Tuesday. 01.06.21, Tuesday. 06.07.21, Tuesday. 13.07.21, Tuesday. 20.07.21, Tuesday. 27.07.21, Tuesday. 03.08.21, Tuesday. 10.08.21 13:00 - 16:00
Wednesday. 18.08.21 17:00 - 20:00
(Vertretung Gruppe Limberg (wegen Krankheit)) Thursday. 08.07.21 09:00 - 12:00

Comment/Description

Basophils are granulocytes which are important sources of histamine and other pro-inflammatory mediators. Recent evidence suggests that basophils, despite their relative rarity compared to other immune cells, play a crucial immunomodulatory role in allergies and other diseases by supporting underlying Th2-type immune responses. The aims of this project are to assess the effects of either IgE-dependent (e.g. anti-IgE) or IgE-independent (e.g. fMLP) stimuli on the differential release of histamine from purified human basophils. These studies will involve learning the procedures for isolating basophils by Ficoll-density centrifugation and purification by immunomagnetic selection from human blood, as well as various experimental setups and determining histamine releases using spectrofluorometric autoanalysis. The project is expected to give students a comprehensive insight into immune cell isolation and studying allergic pro-inflammatory cell responses as well as basic skills in data analysis and literature reviews.

Lit. Falcone FH, Knol EF, Gibbs BF. The role of basophils in the pathogenesis of allergic disease. Clin Exp Allergy. 2011 Jul;41(7):939-47

Admission settings

The course is part of admission "Anmeldung gesperrt (global)".
Erzeugt durch den Stud.IP-Support
Settings for unsubscribe:
  • Admission locked.